The Department of Americas is responsible for the promotion and safeguarding of Guyana’s national interests through developing, maintaining and enhancing Guyana’s bilateral relations with countries in the Americas, not including Venezuela and Suriname. The Department is also responsible for promoting Guyana’s active participation in the Organisation of American States (OAS); the Union of South American Nations (UNASUR); the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC); the Common Market of the South (MERCOSUR); the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC); the Latin American and Caribbean Economic System (SELA) as well as the European Union/Latin America and Caribbean (EU-LAC); South America-Arab (ASPA); South America-Africa (ASA) mechanisms and Latin American Energy Organisation (OLADE).

The Department further focuses on consolidating and expanding Guyana’s multifaceted relations with its traditional partners of the United States and Canada and also on developing and promoting mutually beneficial partnerships and active cooperation programmes with newer partners of Latin American countries in the political, economic, social and cultural spheres.

The Department also seeks to maintain and further develop Guyana’s ongoing engagement with regional integration mechanisms in recognition of the importance placed by Guyana as a small developing state on regional integration in promoting economic growth and sustainable development.